We wait for the LORD.

17799958_10211087850725591_7112784487871030077_n

“Wait patiently for the LORD. Be brave and courageous. Yes, wait patiently for the LORD.” – Psalm 27:14, NLT

Some of us are good in waiting. We can wait patiently… years and years even… but then sometimes, we misread the verse. We change it to “wait patiently for your dreams to come true” or “wait patiently for the answers to your prayers” or we change it to any phrase that suits our own satisfaction. The verse clearly said, “wait patiently for the LORD” and it was even repeated twice in case we didn’t get it,Yes, wait patiently for the LORD.”

Yes, for the LORD. I think disappointments come when we are waiting for the wrong things. Don’t get me wrong, waiting for the fulfillment of our dreams is fantastic but if we are just so locked-in to our this-is-how-it-should-be attitude then where’s the room for GOD to work? Oh it’s not easy. It’s a battle day in and day out and that’s why in between the verse it said, “be brave and courageous”. Be brave for things may not go as we prayed for. Be courageous as we might have to wait longer than we planned for.

Wait patiently for the LORD. I think it’s like, “Ok GOD, these are my desires. These are how I hope things would be… but do as You please. May I see how You see things and may I always grow in the process. Let me wait and listen on what You are telling me, see what You are showing  me… and be brave to heed Your voice and be courageous to do as You will. Let my heart always stay aligned to Yours.”

I think the verse itself said it, waiting is part of the process… We all know that but what or who we are waiting for should always be part of the equation. We (patiently) wait for the LORD.

Listen to my voice in the morning, LordEach morning I bring my requests to You and wait expectantly.” Psalm 5:3, NLT

3 thoughts on “We wait for the LORD.

  1. Oh hey! This is very timely as I also re-published a post on waiting last Monday. I like that you picked this verse to magnify your thoughts about waiting. It’s simple, but has a deep meaning.

    Like

Leave a Reply

