How to be single ;)

13443272_10208463767085140_5143729293510115452_o

I just borrowed the title from the movie, which, no offense, I won’t really recommend. It’s just way too liberated for me… It’s not in my culture and not in the way of life I would really recommend. Yes, I watched it because I was intrigued by the title. On the positive side, after watching this film, I was inspired to write this blog. So, still thanks to the movie. 😉

How to be single? Many single men and women (especially those at their prime years) out there are dreadfully waiting for their romantic story to blossom. Some are concerned because of their age, some are being pressured by the culture or people around them whilst some are just overthinking and dragging themselves from all the worries they could think of. What if it was him yet I didn’t fight for him? What if I should have just stayed? What if I should leave to find her? What if she is just waiting for me to do this? And the long list goes on. They are so looking forward to enjoying the life in a relationship, which I also am, but sadly losing the great opportunities in their lives now.

  1. Live free!

Free yourself from all your A-Z’s issues of being single! I believe that those who can enjoy their single-hood now are those who are more likely be able to appreciate their marriage life one day. I don’t know if there’s a research study on this but it’s what I believe. If you keep on looking for what is lacking now then I guess, you will still be looking for what’s missing even when you are already in a relationship. Well for me, true satisfaction only comes when we have GOD in our lives. It’s not about our civil status. 😉

  1. Don’t mess around!

This is one of the main reasons why I don’t really recommend the movie. Yes go out and mingle. Definitely go! Spend some time outside your routine but just DON’T MESS AROUND. You know what I mean? Know your limitations… I don’t like the experimenting stage. Instead of finding the happiness you are looking for, you might sadly end up broken. Don’t settle for short-time happiness, pursue for that joy that will last. 😉

  1. Enjoy life!

“But… but I am already old!” Well, maybe, just maybe, you are feeling old or looking old because of too much worries. Age is just a number, like what they say. I don’t ever think that God has put “age” in our lives to make us anxious, but for us to make each moment count. Enjoy life because we all deserve that. Stay at your best. Travel and discover the wonders in the world.  There’s just too much to enjoy in this life.

For all the single women out there, don’t chase men, rather, go out and chase your God-given dreams! If it was God who truly put that desires in your heart, then He knows the perfect timing for your love life too! Just stay faithful along the way. Every step you take towards that calling God has given you is a step closer to God’s chosen one for you.

  1. Don’t forget your true value.

Do not let the world measure you by their own yardstick. Your value is so high in God’s eyes. It’s in fact priceless. Enough said. Go on and seize the day!

To all the single men and women: Yes, go and pursue your dreams but I pray that God will give you the wisdom to discern your times and seasons and courage to stay the course.  😉

 

You may also want to read my old post: The Art of Waiting 🙂

“He who finds a wife finds a good thing 
    and obtains favor from the Lord.” Proverbs 18:22, ESV

“For I know the plans that I have for you,’ declares the Lord, ‘plans for welfare and not for calamity to give you a future and a hope.” Jeremiah 29:11, NASB

2 thoughts on “How to be single ;)

Leave a Reply

