Life lessons: pride and humility

10985174_10207687248912671_495934527255553459_n

My sister was telling that she told her husband once, “You know, you are blessed to have me because even if, God forbid, all these “riches” will be stripped away from us, I know how to survive because I grew up in a “poor” family and we struggled with a lot of things…”

 

That moment when you can even brag about the struggles you had been… I think that’s one of the rare moments where both pride and humility come to play. Humbled by the challenges but God has just been keeping us in His arms all along… and we take pride that whatever we have now, they didn’t come easy… but definitely made us stronger in the process. 

There’s this saying in Filipino something like, “when the blanket is short, let to bend your legs to fit in.” We learned then that “happiness” can still be found even in “nothingness”. Yes, let’s aim for wealth, success and all these material things. There’s definitely nothing bad in that. After all, we are to live our lives to the full. But while we are “struggling”, let’s cherish each moment and pick up the life lessons. All these things will keep us anchored to what truly matters in life.

Break before breakthrough and testings come testimony!

“Consider it pure joy, my brothers and sisters, whenever you face trials of many kinds, because you know that the testing of your faith produces perseverance. Let perseverance finish its work so that you may be mature and complete, not lacking anything.” James 1:2-4, NIV

 

 

4 thoughts on “Life lessons: pride and humility

  1. I like your sister’s point 🙂 I also came from a struggling family and I had my own at a young age. I had some “rakets” back in college to help my husband with my baon and our baby’s needs. After graduating and getting a stable job, I still have the raketera blood:) looking back, I do not know how we made it but we made it somehow 🙂 God is good. All the time 🙂

    I followed your blog to read more from you 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

