The Art of Waiting

Instant noodles. Fast-food. Quick dry. Instant cooking. Fast charging. It’s something like, “anything please just don’t let me wait”.

We almost always want something quick. Waiting bores us. The agony is killing us… and I think waiting becomes the hardest when it involves our hearts. When is he/she coming back? Until when shall I wait for him/her? When will you make my dream come true?

It is arguably harder for women. Most of the times, they are the ones on the waiting side but of course, it depends on the situation… but here are my take as a woman.

1. It’s a work in progress.

I was once asked why I am still single. Oh, in fact, I get the question every now and then, haha. To my defense, I would almost always start it with, “just to be clear, it’s by choice”.  To be honest, I also had been through situations that I opted not to entertain “them” for various reasons. If you are interested to read more about this, you can read my old blog Usapang Lovelife (Part 1) (mostly written in Filipino though)… But now when I am asked, I am inclined to joke around instead… I honestly don’t have a crystal clear answer now but like what I said before, all I know is that my love story is a work in progress. God is working on it. Maybe I am not that ready yet or maybe he’s not that ready yet or maybe both of us are not that ready yet. Maybe, maybe not. What I am certain though is that it is now under construction… Could I just be encouraging myself? Maybe… but where will it get me if I dwell on “what if(s)” or keep on asking God, “why and when”? I wouldn’t get any farther by trying to understand His flawless plan. His ways are just simply beyond my comprehension. Rather, I choose to see that He knows what’s best for me. I choose to rest my case in God. I choose to pray. I choose to believe.

2. Don’t zero in.

Yes, you may like someone so deeply and you may feel like it’s already him but for me, it’s still wise not to zero in especially that you are a woman. God has given us wisdom to stay wise. In the season of waiting, the ball is not in our court so while waiting for how things will progress, let us not limit our love story from our own fantasy. I like someone too but I choose to give room for God to make wonderful changes. Maybe it’s not him after all. Our hearts are very fragile so I choose to wait on God and not on him.

3. Go out and mingle.

I am a solid believer that women are meant to be pursued. I know that it’s very traditional to some but I believe that’s how I am created to be. To be treated like a princess because I am a princess… But it doesn’t mean that I will just sit in a corner and wait for my knight in shining armor. Go out and mingle. I don’t mean to flirt around but make new friends. Create a friendly environment.  Come out from your cave. Is this biblical? Go and read the book of Ruth chapter 2. Ruth went out to the fields where he met Boaz and the rest is history.

4. Stay in your assignment.

No matter how hard it is for me to wait, I am a firm subscriber that as long as I stay in the assignment God has given me, we (I and my future husband) will meet down the road. Maybe I have already met him but our love story has not just officially started yet. The bottom line is, God has everything in His hands. His perfect will, His perfect timing. Yes Ruth went out but she remained in her assignment. So my friendly advice is that for you not leave the assignment God has given you – not for chasing your own fantasy or for whatever reason it may be. Always stay in God’s alignment. Keep on pursuing your call. The perfect map to true happiness is following the trail He has set for us. Sooner than you know, your prince charming will be running towards you, with all smiles and all heart!

 

He has made everything beautiful in its time.” Ecclesiastes 3:11, NIV

 

11 thoughts on “The Art of Waiting

  1. Sometimes it takes more effort to consciously choose to zone out from these many ‘what ifs’ and ‘when is this guy whom I am ‘patiently but not really patiently waiting for coming. Sometimes I find myself in that state so much, it feels like I’m robbing God His time, but then I remind myself, I’m human and I then make that conscious effort to zone out those thoughts and focus more on other things. It has become somewhat of an unnecessary cycle.

    Nevertheless, great post.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. The struggle is real! We can always distract ourselves from life, but life will always be here. Our faith is something that we have to deeply root ourselves in because it is our best defense. This is where we can draw our strength in order to make those conscious efforts to zone out.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I agree with your perspectives on being single!

    Waiting is, indeed, an art because it entails us to be creative “in the meantime” so as not to succumb to our boredom or worst, to our fantasies. That means we can engage in enjoying the life and blessings from God. We have to prepare ourselves for the perfect time when we have to appear in the story that God is writing for us.

    I enjoyed reading this. 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

