What are yesterdays compare to tomorrows?

Do not say, “Why were the old days better than these days?” for it is not wise to ask that. (Ecc 7:10)

No matter how glorious our past had been, to be stuck in the former glory is impeding the greater glory of the future.

In my years of existence, I honestly couldn’t say yet that I have seen the fullness of my ultimate dream, still far from it, but I am confident to say that I have tasted my fair share of victories. I have seen glorious days… but as much as we don’t want to dwell in our past failures, it is the same thing with our past victories. Like they said, yesterday has ended last night.

“Why are the old days better than these days?” I think asking that question is like defeating the purpose of the old days. They cameto pass because GOD is good. They happened to inspire and remind us of HIS faithfulness. They are there to whet our appetite to what is to come because the best part is, HE doesn’t run out of surprises! I think for us to behold them, we have to believe that indeed tomorrow has so much more to offer and hence, we got to keep on moving and pushing forward. Sometimes we tend to let our other foot linger in the past wondering this and that… We keep on repeating the thoughts of how we were then and asking what could have happened if… Or why is it like this now? I believe, instead of reliving the past, we should shift our focus to our present days and utilize them so well to sharpen our pencils because trust me; God can and will supersede all these past sweet victories sooner than we know!

And so I say, my life has not been purely bed of roses but I have definitely seen happy days especially when I have truly encountered the LORD but I got to brace myself and welcome happier days ahead. No matter how many feathers on my cap now, if I may say, I know that I haven’t seen yet the grandest. My ABBA FATHER is still keeping the bigger and wilder things in the days to come. These are just my appetizers for my main dish! It is the same thing to anyone who loves Him. You don’t believe me? Check out 1 Corinthians 2:9 and that says it all.

Isn’t amazing that no matter how we imagine our future will be, HE always has HIS ways to surpass that? So yes, what are yesterdays compare to tomorrows? I don’t know about you but for me, my grandest days are yet to unfold!

What no eye has seen, what no ear has heard, and what no human mind has conceived the things God has prepared for those who love Him.” 1 Cor 2:9, NIV

PS: written on 15 Oct 2014

One thought on “What are yesterdays compare to tomorrows?

Leave a Reply

